How Many Planeswalkers Can You Have in a Deck?: Unlimited Potential

Last Updated on August 15, 2021 by

Magic is a game that’s been around for over 20 years. In this time, players have made many different types of decks. Some are more competitive than others, but each one is built to be unique and powerful in its own way. What makes the deck you choose so important?

Well, it all comes down to your personal playing style and what cards you think will give you an edge against your opponent! One thing that can help make up for any lack of creativity or skill on your part is the number of Planeswalkers in your deck.

How Many Planeswalkers Can You Have in a Deck?: Unlimited Potential

Planeswalkers are wizards from another world who bring their spells with them when they come to our plane. They’re not just limited by mana like we are- they can use whatever types of mana they like! The only downside to Planeswalkers is that you can have only one of each in your deck.

So what? How many do you need, anyway? Well, the answer really depends on how competitive the format is. If it’s a very casual game- and I don’t mean just new players but people who are looking for something fun with friends and family without too much thought involved- then three would be more than enough if not overkill.

In a higher-level game where every turn matters, at least four or five would make sense depending on which ones you choose to include (some are better against aggro decks while others excel when facing other control).

Ultimately, there isn’t an exact number out there that will fit every deck. It’s just up to you to understand the ins and outs of your strategy, build a solid plan for what opponents are most likely to face in any given game, and decide on an appropriate amount from there.


How many planeswalkers can be in a deck?

Short Answer- four Planeswalkers.

How many planeswalkers can be in a deck?

Short Answer- All planeswalkers are also legendary. This means you can’t have control of two planeswalkers with the same full name at the same time. You can keep both planeswalkers as they have different full names.

Can I have a Planeswalker In my commander deck?

Short Answer- When choosing a commander, you must use either a legendary creature, a planeswalker with the ability to be a commander, or a pair of legendary creatures or planeswalkers that both have partners.

Do Planeswalkers count as players?

Short Answer- A planeswalker is not a creature, and its activated abilities don’t have the tap symbol or untap symbol in their cost, so the summoning sickness rule doesn’t apply.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top